AAMI Levels: Explained
Our surgical gowns meet the latest AAMI guidelines for industry-leading safety standards.
Level 2
Fluid risk level: low
Best used for: eye procedure, tonsillectomy, laparoscopy, thoracotomy
Level 3
Fluid risk level: moderate
Best used for: upper extremity, EENT, hand, chest, cystoscopy, mastectomy
Level 4
Fluid risk level: high
Best used for: c-section, total hip/knee, knee arthroscopy
The gowns above are recommendations only. The longer a procedure, the more protection that may be needed.
Levels of Barrier Protection – AAMI PB70:20121
Choose the right gown by matching the color on the neck binding to the AAMI level on the chart.